Adult Film/Retainer
Expert: Jim Boyd - 5/19/2010
QuestionHi i too have joined www.proamateurblue.com (i think the other person asking misspelt the address, this site is not for health care but it does seem to be either under construction or still a fake)
I have paid a membership fee of £300 for 6 months of advertising on their site. It was ment to be £350 but i misheard the price and had already made the transfer but the woman i was talking to, Leanne, said she had friends in the finance dept so rang me back later on and granted me a discount. I have had a call back since saying an American production company is interested in using me for a one off 90min film being shot in my area. A date and the area in which its being filmed was given to me and the payment for it will be £6500 and 15p on every copy sold over the next 2 years but as their an american company and im in the uk they (the production company, not proamareurblue.com) require a retainer of 10%, which in this case is £4000, to ensure the actors turn up. Now iv been told that this is something to do with them being an american company working in the uk and if i were to work with a uk production company there would be no retainer (it makes sense because of the costs of coming here with all their equiptment and setting up only to have the actors chicken out)
Proamateurblue.com have said that because this will be my first production their willing to help me out in order to "get me out there" and pay £3000 leaving me to pay £1000 which, as it's a retainer, will be returned to me along with my payment after filming is complete...
Proamateurblue.com gave me this information about themselvs as a company:
Business registered number:
07010089 as VE UK Limited
Main office address:
Fernhills Business Centre,
Foerster Chambers,
Bury,
GTR Manchester,
BL9 5BJ
TEL: 08719190122
I need to check that this is not a scam before i make anymore payments to them.
Thankyou for your time,
Brett Sorby.
AnswerAs I told the other person who asked about this site..anytime a performer is asked to pay any type of retainer, be it in the United States or in the UK, it's probably a scam.
Nothing about this website or the production company you speak of makes any sense or conforms to the standard way of conducting business in the Adult Film Industry.