You are here:

Baseball Instruction/Ball Drops Between First and Second Basemen

Advertisement


Question
In a high school baseball game...
Batter hits a popup about 15 feet behind the first baseman. Second baseman comes over. Ball falls untouched about five feet from each player.  I would have said that this was the second baseman's ball ---- but, either player could have caught the ball. I recorded this as a base hit.

Question - Should this have been recorded as an error and, if so, by whom?

Thanks,
Greg

Answer
Greg,

It should have been recorded as an error.  The rules state that if a fielder using ordinary effort should have made the play, then it can be an error, even if the fielder doesn't touch the ball.  Since in your judgement the 2nd baseman had the best chance, he should get the error.

Hope this helps!

Brian

Baseball Instruction

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Brian Flaspohler

Expertise

Questions about baseball rules, general information about the game, statistical analysis, questions about players, questions about Baseball records. I am a member of the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) and a lifelong baseball fanatic. Don't ask me questions about training - this is not my area of expertise.

Experience

Lifelong fan, article about player movement from team to team throughout history.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.