Baseball Instruction/umpiring

Advertisement


Question
This happened in a high school game.......Situation: runner on third, two outs, two strikes on the batter.. runner having a big lead arrived and stepped on the plate before the pitch which is a strike caught by the catcher...will the run count since the runner stepped on the plate before the pitch, or  will rule 4.09(a)exception 1 apply in this situation.. thanks

Answer
The run does not count. The strike three is effectively a force out. If the runner had crossed the plate before the time of the pitch, then it would count. Here is an example of why the runner does not score. Say the strike three pitch is dropped by the catcher and the batter takes off for first, the runner on third easily crosses the plate before the catcher throws to first but since it is a force play and the third out, the run does not score. Hope this answers your question.

Baseball Instruction

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Eric Theune

Expertise

Any Baseball Question Any Rules Question ( umpire )

Experience

4 years Varsity, 4 Years D1, 20 years Head Coach, 10 years Professional Instructor, 16 years Umpire (NCAA, MILB). Graduate of Jim Evans Professional Umpire School.

Education/Credentials
College GraduateSV

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.