Baseball Instruction/Foul balls

Advertisement


Question
If an infielder is fielding a foul ball it hits the MIT but then bounces out of glove and hits the ground. Is it a fare ball or still foul. Player was not inside base line when ball was missed

Answer
Gary, the fielder's position in relation to the base line has no bearing on a fair/foul decision. The only thing that matters is the location of the ball when it is initially touched by the fielder. If the ball is over foul territory when the ball is touched and it is not caught, it's a foul ball; and if the ball is over fair territory when the ball is touched and it is not caught, it's a fair ball. In either situation, the location of the ball when it touches the ground has no relevance to the call.

To recap, it doesn't matter where the fielder is located or where the ball touches the ground after it's touched. What does matter is whether the ball is over fair or foul territory when it is initially touched.

Baseball Instruction

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Andrew Senger

Expertise

Anything related to baseball rules.

Experience

I am a baseball umpire. I am certified for High School (NFHS), and work in Missouri (MSHSAA). I umpire baseball from high school through adults, focusing mainly on high school-aged games.

Organizations
NFHS - National Federation of High Schools MSHSAA - Missouri State High School Athletic Association GSLAU - Greater St. Louis Association of Umpires

Education/Credentials
I have attended numerous training lessons on umpiring. Many of these lessons including Rules Interpretations.

Past/Present Clients
Mid-American Umpire Clinic - 2010

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.