Baseball Instruction/Balk to Second Base

Advertisement


Kevin wrote at 2007-07-20 19:52:04
Actually Brian, if the second baseman made zero attempt to cover the base then a balk should have been called. If he was moving on and off the base and the pitcher just caught him off then it would have been ok. It all depends on if there was an intent by the second baseman to cover the base.


John wrote at 2013-06-09 17:50:23
That is incorrect. If he legally disengaged the pitching rubber he is a fielder. This is why second base is the only base he can fake to. He can throw to anyone once he legally steps off.




Baseball Instruction

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Brian Flaspohler

Expertise

Questions about baseball rules, general information about the game, statistical analysis, questions about players, questions about Baseball records. I am a member of the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) and a lifelong baseball fanatic. Don't ask me questions about training - this is not my area of expertise.

Experience

Lifelong fan, article about player movement from team to team throughout history.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.