Baseball Instruction/Batting rules

Advertisement


steve wrote at 2006-07-20 17:05:48
this answer is wrong for any league I know of see A batter may switch to the other box after every pitch if he so desires. He may do it on any ball strike count. One of the oldest myths in baseball is the one that says you can't switch boxes when you have two strikes on you.

The only restriction on the batter is that he may not step into the other box after the pitcher is in position ready to pitch. Rule 6.06(b  


cg wrote at 2007-04-15 03:59:49
You may switch boxes as long as the pitcher is not on the rubber. The rule 60.0b states:

A batter is out for illegal action when --

(b) He steps from one batter’s box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch;


Coach K wrote at 2007-04-16 16:17:07
A batter may switch boxes with ANY strike ball count. MLB rules 6.06 is only exception which states a batter cannot switch boxes once a pitcher is set to pitch.


Jobu wrote at 2008-05-07 14:49:40
I don't think that's correct.  I thought you could switch all you wanted until there were 2 strikes...


Tim wrote at 2014-05-14 11:46:48
Brian...you are incorrect a batter may switch sides in an at bat as long as the pitcher is not on the rubber....

Tim


Baseball Instruction

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Brian Flaspohler

Expertise

Questions about baseball rules, general information about the game, statistical analysis, questions about players, questions about Baseball records. I am a member of the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) and a lifelong baseball fanatic. Don't ask me questions about training - this is not my area of expertise.

Experience

Lifelong fan, article about player movement from team to team throughout history.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.