You are here:

Basketball Instruction/possesion arrow

Advertisement


Question
There was a jump ball, team A has the arrow. Team A throws the ball inbounds, does not hit anyone and goes out of bounds, so team B gets the ball where team A had it. Does the possession arrow change since nobody had possession inbounds?

Answer
Jeff,

That is a good question. The possession arrow never changes until the Throw-in ends. In this case, the throw-in was not successful and team possession now goes to Team B due to the turn-over. The Alternating possession arrow stays the same and Team A will get it again on the next jump ball.

thank you for your question.  

Basketball Instruction

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Bret Temple

Expertise

My expertise is in the craft of Officiating Basketball and I can answer questions pertaining to basketball rules; youth level through CIF High School, NCAA college and NBA rules as well. I can either help define a specific rule for you, or interpret a specific rule to clarify how other officials and I view and call the game.

Experience

I have been a Basketball Official now for over 19 years, officiating at all levels. I have attended numerous training camps throughout the years in an attempt to constantly become a better official. I have been evaluated by top Officiating organizations and Assignors, and I've had the fortunate experience to officiate former Division 1 and NBA players.

Organizations
NASO (National Association of Sports Officials) CBOA (California Basketball Officials Association)

Education/Credentials
El Sorrino Officials Association Accreditation CIF Certified(California Interscholastic Federation)

Past/Present Clients
Los Angeles City Parks and Recreation, Calabasas Basketball League, Calabasas Semi-Pro Men's League, AYBA, California Interscholatic Federation, ARC League , Gary Grant Youth Basketball Program

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.