You are here:

Basketball Instruction/backcourt violation


(High School)Player A1 attempts to inbound the ball to player A2 from the front court sideline.  He throws the ball too high and Player A2 tips it and it goes into the back court (no possession was gained). Player A2 then goes and retrieves the ball in the back court.  Is this a back court violation? It was called a back court violation by the referee.  I disagree because no possession was gained on the inbounding of the ball so there was never a front court possession established. Which is correct?

Monty Guest,

This was an incorrect call. When the ball is being in-bounded and a player of the same team tips it into the back court, it's legal to go and retrieve it because "Team control" has not been established yet.  

Thanks for your question.

Basketball Instruction

All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Bret Temple


My expertise is in the craft of Officiating Basketball and I can answer questions pertaining to basketball rules; youth level through CIF High School, NCAA college and NBA rules as well. I can either help define a specific rule for you, or interpret a specific rule to clarify how other officials and I view and call the game.


I have been a Basketball Official now for over 19 years, officiating at all levels. I have attended numerous training camps throughout the years in an attempt to constantly become a better official. I have been evaluated by top Officiating organizations and Assignors, and I've had the fortunate experience to officiate former Division 1 and NBA players.

NASO (National Association of Sports Officials) CBOA (California Basketball Officials Association)

El Sorrino Officials Association Accreditation CIF Certified(California Interscholastic Federation)

Past/Present Clients
Los Angeles City Parks and Recreation, Calabasas Basketball League, Calabasas Semi-Pro Men's League, AYBA, California Interscholatic Federation, ARC League , Gary Grant Youth Basketball Program

©2017 All rights reserved.