Basketball Instruction/Basketball

Advertisement


Question
Is throwing the ball up in the air and catching and dribbling legal.

Answer
Devin,

If you mean passing to yourself no you cannot do that, that would be an illegal dribble. However, High School rules permit a player to catch their own airball as long as it's a legitimate shot attempt. At that point the player may dribble again, shoot or pass.

hope that answered your question.  

Basketball Instruction

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Bret Temple

Expertise

My expertise is in the craft of Officiating Basketball and I can answer questions pertaining to basketball rules; youth level through CIF High School, NCAA college and NBA rules as well. I can either help define a specific rule for you, or interpret a specific rule to clarify how other officials and I view and call the game.

Experience

I have been a Basketball Official now for over 19 years, officiating at all levels. I have attended numerous training camps throughout the years in an attempt to constantly become a better official. I have been evaluated by top Officiating organizations and Assignors, and I've had the fortunate experience to officiate former Division 1 and NBA players.

Organizations
NASO (National Association of Sports Officials) CBOA (California Basketball Officials Association)

Education/Credentials
El Sorrino Officials Association Accreditation CIF Certified(California Interscholastic Federation)

Past/Present Clients
Los Angeles City Parks and Recreation, Calabasas Basketball League, Calabasas Semi-Pro Men's League, AYBA, California Interscholatic Federation, ARC League , Gary Grant Youth Basketball Program

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.