I'm curious what the ruling would be in the following situation.

Suppose a bowler has a good ball to the pocket and all of the pins fall immediately, save for the 5-pin. The pin is wobbling, and is literally falling down as the pinsetter goes back. If the pin doesn't hit the lane (the pinsetter makes contact with it when it's clearly falling), would that count for a spare?

If the pin falls, without being touched by the pinsetter, it's a strike.

If the pin falls, after being picked up by the pinsetter, if it falls after the pinsetter sweeps the deck and sets it back down, it must be reset and knocked down by the bowler for the spare.

Thanks for your question. Bowl well.  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


©2016 All rights reserved.