You are here:

Bridge & other card games/When do you declare having honors?

Advertisement


Jack wrote at 2013-02-01 19:20:53
All the "experts" say that you can declare Honors at any time. Most say wait until all 13 tricks have been played.

Getting Honors points after play is contrary to the bridge's  risk/reward scoring concept. A player should not get extra points without having extra risk. That is why Honors should be declared before play. It should be a rule.  


MrMacky wrote at 2016-10-05 20:04:25
When I learned bridge in the mid 1950's, the rule for the declaration of honors was always that they must be declared at the end of the first trick and before the lead to the 2nd trick of play. Otherwise they were forfeited.


Bridge & other card games

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Unhunk

Expertise

I can answer questions on bidding and on cardplay with the caveat that the former may necessarily involve some subjectivity. I have been playing tournament bridge for over 20 years and I have won several regional tournaments.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.