Bridge & other card games/bridge

Advertisement


Question
Declarer played an ace of  spades over her partners king in  error.  She returned the card to her hand and stated "Declarer is allowed to pick up her card and play a lower spade with no penalty."  Declarer had taken her hand off the ace that was played before picking it up.  Is this a legal play?

Answer
Hi,

A card is considered to be played by declarer if it is held face up and touching or nearly touching the table. If the card was on the table and declarer had taken her hand off it then there is no question that the card had been played and it cannot be retracted.

Bridge & other card games

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Unhunk

Expertise

I can answer questions on bidding and on cardplay with the caveat that the former may necessarily involve some subjectivity. I have been playing tournament bridge for over 20 years and I have won several regional tournaments.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.