Bridge & other card games/redeal

Advertisement


Question
I WAS TOLD THE BRIDGE RULES STATE A HAND IS NEVER REDEALT WHEN PLAYERS END UP WITH A DIFFERENT NUMBER OF CARSA

Answer
Hi,

According to Law 10(c)(ii) there must be a redeal if before the play has been completed it is discovered that one player has picked up too many cards and another too few.

However, a redeal is not required if a player ends up with a different number of cards by omitting to play a card or playing too many cards to a previous trick or dropping a card on the floor or picking up an extra card from one of the played tricks.

Bridge & other card games

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Unhunk

Expertise

I can answer questions on bidding and on cardplay with the caveat that the former may necessarily involve some subjectivity. I have been playing tournament bridge for over 20 years and I have won several regional tournaments.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.