Buying & Selling Thru Ebay & Other Auctions/shall i believe this ???

Advertisement


Question
Dear Edward,
I recieved an email from UK NATIONAL LOTTERY stating that I've won 500,000 GBP,
below is the email:

UK NATIONAL LOTTERY
Support Center
PO Box 1010
Liverpool
L70 1NL
United Kingdom.

FROM: THE DESK OF THE PROMOTIONS MANAGER,
INTERNATIONAL PROMOTION/PRIZE AWARD DEPARTMENT,

REF: UKNL/26530460037/06
BATCH: 24/05319/IPO

they are saying that I have been approved for a lump sum pay Of  500,000.00 British Pounds(GBP) in cash credited to file REF
NO. UKNL/26510555037/05.

and they advised me to order my price through courier which sent me the following e-mail.

From: Mr. Todd Ashley,
Head of Customer Care Dept.
PARCELFLASH COURIER SERVICES
                        HEAD OFFICE
                            113-114 SOUTH EAST ROAD
                                          PATCHWAY
                                             BRISTOL
                                    LONDON-ENGLAND
                                     UNITED KINGDOM
                                          BS34 5DP
                         TEL: +447-031905491
             E-mail: parcelflashcourier@yahoo.co.uk

To: Faiza M. Al Ali,
Winner of the UK NATIONAL LOTTERY.
Thanks for calling, i would want you to understand that it is impossible to pay your courier charges at the point of delivery.
All you have to do now is to send down your charges of £650.00 pounds for FedEx through western union money transfer to our payment officer.
Below is his details:
Name: Mr. Andrew Boyd

Address: 114 SOUTH EAST ROAD, PATCHWAY, BRISTOL
LONDON-ENGLAND, UNITED KINGDOM, BS34 5DP                                                           
You will have to complete this on time because you do not have much time to claim your prize. As soon as we receive the charges we will commence the process that will facilitate the swift dispatch of your prize to your present location as we have been doing for other winners that choose courier option since the promotions started.
Note: Do send the western union money transfer slip after sending the charges, and the information you used to send the charges.
Congratulations and have a nice day.
Todd Ashley.


Now Edward, what do you thing? shall I believe this. I'm totally confused. is there any chance this might be true ???
please help


Answer
No.  It's a Scam.  

The only money involved is yours and they want it.  Usually what happens is that once you respond, they ask for "Fees" and more fees nad more fees until you are either out of money or quit asking.

Delete the email and move on.  

Buying & Selling Thru Ebay & Other Auctions

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Marvinator

Expertise

I`ve been involved with Ebay practically since it`s inception. I`ve spent a lot of free time in helping people find the answer to problems as well as selling techniquest on the Ebay system. I`m more than comfortable with the Ebay system, it`s rules and policies and the why`s and wherefores of it`s day to day operation and the operations of both a seller and buyer.

Experience

Been a consistent seller on Ebay since 1997 and have been regarded as a 'source' for information on Ebay itself.
(Under Expertiese, it should be techniques, not techniquest...sorry bout that....)

©2012 About.com, a part of The New York Times Company. All rights reserved.