AboutMichelle Renee Krehl Expertise I can answer questions relating to most types of fashion and commercial modeling, such as requirements, how to find an agent, etc. as well as information about portfolio development, comp cards, etc.
Experience I am a professional plus size model, currently based in Los Angeles. I have modeled as both a straight size model, (in my teens and 20's) and as a plus size model (currently). I am represented by a reputable agency and have worked for many clients, both plus and non-plus specific. I am experienced in print, runway, fit, TV, and film.
Publications I am currently a writer for PLUS Model Magazine. You may read articles I have written in the archives. I generally do pieces relating to fashion events in the Los Angeles area.
Education/Credentials My educational background is in Child Development. But I also hold a diploma in Fashion Merchandising as well. I have not attended modeling school. Modeling schools are completely unnecessary and a waste of time for potential models. They exist only to make money.
Past/Present Clients Inchant, Kitsch*n Glam, Zaftique, Plus by Design, Big on Batik, The Greater L.A. Woman, Little In The Middle, Pro-Girl, Deborah Lindquist, Roger Perry, Shop Translated, Redrawn Arts, Big Gals Lingerie, Love Fifi, Here Come the Brides, Josephine's Bridals, California Bridal Shows, and many more.
Question i was recently spotted by a model scout named holly madison. she is a scout for eitotal modeling agency. the website is http://www.eitotalproductions.com/modeling.html . she said that i have a lot of potential and that she thinks i could be in the fall glamour photoshoot. i am turning 17 in a couple of days and i have told my mother as well. i gave her my email and she said she would write me with the details. she said the rates if i get in are 55 - 150$ per hour. have you had any complaints from this agency or know anything about it? i am new to the "world" and i have no idea if it's a scam or something legit! i would LOVE your advice.
Answer Kim,
I will let you know several things that raise red flags where this "company" is concerned. First of all, it says it has studios in Northern and Southern California and you are in Canada. Are they asking you to come there to shoot?
It is not an "agency". It claims it is a studio that shoots for clients. It shoots glamour and nudes and implied nudity. Generally legit agencies such as Ford, Click, Next, etc. do not have models on their roster that shoot solely glamour or Playboy style.
The hourly rates they told you are for what? Jobs for clients? That is how models get paid. I am confused as to what a "fall glamour shoot" is. When a model has an agent, they are sent to castings/auditions/go-sees, etc. for clients (like Sears or Macy's, etc.) and then if they are booked for the job, the client pays the agency and the agency pays you.
This seems to be some type of management or entertainment or photography company. The contact address is a P.O. Box, and not a street address, although they have 2 studios. Modeling agencies do not have studios, they have offices.
I would be EXTREMELY cautious, as you are a minor and this company seems to have alot of nudity on their website, and that is not normal agency practice either. And the photos and models do not seem of high quality, and some look very dated. Have they asked you for any money? If you are of model height and statistics, I would recommend submitting to legit agencies in your area. This sounds very suspect.