You are here:

Celibacy/Abstinence/Why is Bramacharya called the terrible oath?


QUESTION: Is it because it is very hard to attain?

ANSWER: Because it is the most potent medicine on the disease called ignorance in which revels the Ego. Brahmacharya chills the spine of the Ego and makes it tremble. Once the Ego is killed though the required medication, that entity which found Brahmacharya terrible disappears and the Atman (self) prevails in the nature of peace, knowledge & bliss .

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

QUESTION: Thanks, very good answer, I liked the sentence "that entity which found Brahmacharya terrible disappears". I remarked that when someone meditate but still think about lust during that day, there is not much concentration but if not think then there is real concentration. Ive read also that a real brahmachari or someone with no desire at all (very rare) do not fear anything even spirits are not able to effect him, is that true?

Fear is the effect of Agnyana (ignorance). It is a mental creation/imagination and not more. Since Brahmacharya gradually dissolves ignorance, thereby resulting in the blossoming of the truth, the established Brahmachari fears very little. Once complete knowledge of the self is attained through self-realization, nothing but the self exists everywhere; extending to infinity. The dream-image like world then disappears, though he physically sees it. What then remains to be feared?

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 All rights reserved.