You are here:

Celibacy/Abstinence/Path through God with attributes


Respected Sir, i tend to be more inclined towards attributefull God. Idol worship, reading Ramayan,Mahabharat & ancient stories of rishis & righteous King, practice of virtues makes me more devoted ,.keep the real purpose of life alive & away from materialism.
Please advice on the other activities that I can include to tread this path more effectively. Thank you

It does not matter whether one worships the Almighty as 'Saguna' (Lord manifest with form) or 'Nirguna' (formless Supreme). What is required is to be absorbed in HIS thought alone, following which the mind eventually becomes still and goes into Samadhi.

What is most important however is never to mistake the form worshiped itself to be God but to be devout to that Supreme power which works through the idol or photo. It is not the idol or a photo of God which is of value but the power of THAT Supreme being which works through these that alone matters.

To achieve the same one should perform Sadhana (practice) to annul the 'Ahamkara' (Ego) which stands between the 'Manas' (mind) and the Atman (self or Lord). This much is the purpose behind the Yogic practices & lifestyle. Nothing more.

Continue with your path of devotion with honest and unbroken Brahmacharya. Without Brahmacharya, no path towards Enlightenment can succeed. It is an absolute must. With time and consistent practice, the mind will eventually absorb itself in the Lord through meditation.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 All rights reserved.