You are here:

Celibacy/Abstinence/Celibacy & Brahmacharya



Is physical bramacharya (which means you dont lose your semen but still think of sex like everyone else and have erection without leakage) brings you the benefits and merit-making of total bramacharya? And is bramacharya necessary to helps one to open the third eye by combining it with yoga techniques?

ANSWER: 1. Mere physical celibacy without mental abstinence will eventually cause a break. One should practice Brahmacharya in thought, word & deed with surrender to God. That alone is Brahmacharya.

2. Yes. Without Brahmacharya, there is no Yoga and no spiritual development.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------


Last question if you dont mind. In the Yoga Sutra, it says when someone practice samyama on a particular object or quality like lightness or youthfulness one acquire that quality. Do the samayama means one think in a subtle way in a state of meditation and then let go that thought in inner silence? I never really understood that concept of samyama.

1. Samyama means complete concentration on one particular entity with no other thought. It is achieved by the process of Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.

2. When this entity alone occupies the mind for a considerable period of time with unbroken intensity, then the meaning of the concerned seed of meditation becomes known. That state is Samadhi, where, the mind loses its own awareness and is only aware of the concerned seed.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 All rights reserved.