Celibacy/Abstinence/Bliss & Power


I find many of the things you write here about celibacy very interesting, but you always assume bliss is the ultimate goal. Is there any traditionally prescribed path for those who want power?

1. Bliss is not the ultimate goal of Brahmacharya. To realize oneself is the final goal. Bliss is one of the traits of the Atman (self). As long as there is a desire for bliss, the Ego still exists, for it is the Ego who wants bliss, being separate from the self. Therefore, the one who desires bliss is still to be rooted out. Only when this is achieved, does the stainless and pure Atman who is of the nature of pure consciousness remain. The Atman does not desire any bliss, for bliss, knowledge and power are a part of it and not external to it.

2. One should not mistake bliss to be the goal. It can be used as an incentive by the beginner to motivate himself, but cannot be the final goal. To reside in the self as the self, so that not even the least desire for bliss, power or other things remain, should alone be the goal and nothing else. That alone gives the best possible, everlasting outcome.

3. Why do you want power, when you, the Atman, are yourself the greatest power of powers? It is lack of this realization which is making you search for power outside. If you realize you self, the greatest power will be at your disposal. That is the path for you.

Apply efforts only to realize the self. Nothing else matters.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.