Celibacy/Abstinence/Dissolution of Mind


When dissolving the mind, how should one perceive it?
Is the mind like a cocoon? Does the atma slowly realize that the inside walls of the cocoon are not the true reality and eventually breaks out of the mind, discarding it, by releasing itself through a small window into the true reality? Or is the mind more like hardened carbon charcoal surrounding the diamond (atma)? Does one have to chip away at the rock breaking down every impure fragment until the resplendent diamond itself appears in absolute purity? In other words, does the mind have to be broken down completely or can it just be discarded relatively whole(via detachment and realization)? Maybe both analogies are accurate and/or inaccurate. Maybe both perceptions apply for different stages of realization. Maybe there is a different way to look at the process of mind dissolution.

If possible, could you walk me through an in depth description of the different stages of mind dissolution? If you have already done so, please say so. I will search for it in your past answers.


1. The Atman is always realized. It does not perceive or conceive anything. It is the mind which is concerned with perception of concepts.

2. Through Sadhana & life experience, the mind gradually realizes its unreal nature, gives up the struggle and merges into the Atman.

3. The seven stages of the mind, in the journey back to its source (Atman) have been elaborated in the past answer titled - 'Seven States to Self-realization'

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.