Celibacy/Abstinence/Past and modern sages


Ive read the previous post. I wont enter in chronology but it seem for any person who is interested in spirituality nowadays that the age that historians call bronze age, (from the first form of known civilizations until 3000 years ago), was absolutely the era of humankind with the most sages. Its seems that modern sages even with much education and religious scriptures available look very average and normal compared to those of heroic times if we believe ancient stories. It is said that those times people's nature was completely different from now, gods and humans cohabited with one another. If those stories are true, Those sages of the past had herculean strenght like many heroes, strong and global magical powers over nature like Moses or Hanuman. Things that dont appear in later ages, more ancient in the past more unbelievable things occured if one believe stories. In modern times, a sage hardly have a siddhi. This is important because many people today doubt the reality of those ancient stories and take them as legends or myths. What happened?

Different phases have different characteristics in the Leela (play) of the Lord. Variety is the order of the play and that which HE wills transpires. It does not matter who did what, for action concerns the domain of the unreal. The same holds good as regards display of Siddhi-s, for all these are events in the drama being directed by the higher power, who has his own way of doing things.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.