You are here:

Celibacy/Abstinence/Brahmacharya among sages


I know brahmacvharya is very very important to the body, the mind and the spirit. But at the same time why some world sages didnt appear to have practiced it? In the story of Krishna we can read he had sexual relation with hundreds gopis or servants even if he was considered a enlightened one. This is just one case. Then offcourse we can find other such examples in stories of past sages or the great religious founders. Moses had a wife before "seeing God". Offcourse in modern world the majority were practicing brahmacharya but not always in  the past.

So I know its important now but why some practioner did not perfect it as some who take the vow of being a monk and going to monasteries or living in remote areas (Himalaya or some desert area) to prevent such sexual contact with the opposite gender?

And do you think Jesus was a brahmachari or monk since childhood? There is no known thing.


1. The union between Lord Krishna and the Gopi-s was beyond the body and the mind. It was 'Urdhva Sangama' (communion with the Lord). The Gopi-s let go of their Ego and merged their minds into the Lord, resulting in perfect communion with the Supreme consciousness, as in 'Nirvikalpa Samadhi'. It was not the lower sexual union (Adha Sangama) involving the body. Hence there was no sexual relationship, though it may appear otherwise.

2. After Enlightenment, there is no possibility of the lower sexual union as the one who did so no longer exists.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 All rights reserved.