You are here:

Celibacy/Abstinence/Chakra-s and Brahmacharya


Dear Guruji,

Please explain and evaluate the different chakra-s and their relationship with brahmacharya.

1. The seven Chakra-s are the representation of the levels through which consciousness passes, on its way back from identification with the non-self, into itself. These are denoted by the confluence of Nadi-s (astral energy channels).

2. Through proper transmutation of the vital energy via Brahmacharya to realize the self, the conserved Prana awakens Kundalini, which then ascends and purifies the physical, astral and causal mediums. The chakra-s are correspondingly purified, stage by stage, depending on the intensity & continuity of practice.

There is no need to ponder much about the process involved, as it is automatic, occurring all by itself, in case of the Yogi applying the required methods, as described earlier. Mere, theoretical knowledge about the details are of no use and rather become a distraction. Direct knowledge from experience will dawn by itself, through diligent practice, to the honest Yogi, who surrenders to God & performs Sadhana in an unbroken manner.

When this much is done, individual consciousness gradually dissociates from the non-self, to eventually merge into the universal consciousness irreversibly, which is the state called 'Kaivalya' (self-realization).

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]