You are here:

Celibacy/Abstinence/Yoga marga and other Margas


Hi Sir,

It's been traditionally told that there are four margas of Spirituality: Bakthi Yoga, Karma Yoga, Raja Yoga and Jnana Yoga.

I have a question that if the Self-Realization attained by a Jnana Yogi and a Raja Yoga in the end is same or there is any sort of difference in terms of realizing the Self and in terms of Chakras?

Please answer....


1. Since there is only one self, one truth and one God, which are all one and the same, there is only one self-realization, whatever be the means taken to reach it.

2. Let go of the concept of Chakra-s, body, mind, world and all other things non-self and focus only on realizing the self, which can be accomplished by no other means but through annulling the Ego. Then, all that is to be known will become known.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 All rights reserved.