Celibacy/Abstinence/Food & Samadhi


Sir, please clarify these doubts of an aspiring sadhaka. Thank you

1. Should one eat a high protein diet?

2. If one has a choice between veg & non-veg food, which should the yogi choose?

3. Who requires non-vegetarian food? Why will a yogi not need it, if so.

4. How much effort does it take to attain Nirvikalpa Samadhi?

1. No. A high protein diet is not conducive to well being. A balanced and whole some diet is all that is required.

2. Vegetarian.

3. Those indulging in hours of hard, manual/physical labor or exertion, where the body & mind work on a highly Rajasic and exerting mode require moderate meat consumption.

Meat is not the preferred food for a Yogi indulging in much meditation and Sadhana with a Satwic mind.

5. 'Nirvikalpa Samadhi' (non-dual super consciousness) is attained when the one putting effort (Ego) dissolves. Hence, it cannot be attained through effort.

When after mastering 'Savikalpa Samadhi' (through much effort & Sadhana lasting many years or decades), the Yogi finally starts to realize the fallacy of the Ego (and thereby effort), he finally gives in to the higher power in total, whereupon, the mind collapses into the void (as salt dissolves in water without a trace), merging in the endless ocean of the infinite. Then, the Atman (self/pure consciousness) alone remains. That is 'Nirvikalpam'. There is no 'I' 'You' or the 'World' then. It is pure consciousness, truth, pure being, bliss & beyond description.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.