You are here:

Celibacy/Abstinence/Importance of spiritual practices during ecliipses and ekadarshi


1) I have heard from elders that spiritual practices done during solar and lunar eclipse benifits 3 fold..mantra sidhhi can be achieved very easily and also one should not eat anything during this period and do fasting.
2) ekadashi is also given more importance for sadhana..why?

1. The Lunar and Solar energies (corresponding to Ida and Pingala in the human body) are in synchrony during an eclipse. This is most conducive to balance the corresponding energies in the human body, so as to merge Prana & Apana into the Sushumna Nadi to attain Samadhi (union with the Supreme). Hence the advise to engage in spiritual practice.

The Jatharagni (digestive fire) naturally diminishes during an eclipse, as Prana shakti (vital energy) is channelized towards the Sushumna. Hence food if eaten will not be properly digested or assimilated, leading to the formation of toxins. Therefore, one is advised to fast. Also, a heavy stomach is not conducive for Kundalini awakening

2. Ekadashi (eleventh day of the lunar fortnight) is the time when it is most conducive to merge the mind into its source - The Atman, for at this time, the mind naturally resides in the 'Ajna' and the 'Anahata' chakra-s, which are very close to the Sahasrara as compared to the others. Hence the energies in the cosmos and within oneself are most conducive for Samadhi. So the wise desist from loading their stomachs with food (which causes stupor) and instead fast or take something light, in their quest to merge into the self.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 All rights reserved.