Dear Dhananjay,

Could you please explain the meaning of 'Savikalpa Samadhi' and 'Nirvikalpi Samadhi'? What are they and what are the differences between the two?

I'm familiair with Buddhist texts, there they talk about 4 rupa jhana's and four arupa jhana's. Are there maybe (as far as you know) correspondences between these states and savikalpa- and nirvikalpa samadhi?

Thank you,


In 'Savikalpa' or 'Sabija Samadhi', the 'Pratyaya' (seed of meditation) exists. Hence the I-ness (Ego) or experiencer also exists.

In 'Nirvikalpa' or 'Nirbija Samadhi', the knower, known and knowing all merge. So there is no seed or object. Hence there is no I-ness. Pure consciousness alone. Reality.

ॐ तत् सत्
(That Supreme being is the absolute truth)  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts




Questions concerning the practice of 'Brahmacharya' to know the self, & the means required are dealt with here.


The term 'Yoga' is a derivative of the Samskruth verb 'Yuj' which refers to union. 'Yoga', also called 'Brahma vidy‚' is the eternal dissolution of the individual 'Aham' (Ego) into the Atman (self) for 'Mukti' (liberation). Mere indulgence in '¬sana' or physical postures is not Yoga. ¬sana is only one limb or 'Anga' of Yoga. The eight limbs viz. Yama, Niyama, ¬sana, Pr‚n‚y‚ma, Praty‚h‚ra, Dh‚rana, Dhy‚na and Sam‚dhi are the means to Yoga. Brahmacharya or spiritually based continence is one of the important components of 'Yama'. 'Brahmacharya':- "Brahmani charyathey ithi" - "To surrender one's Ego and go with the will of the Almighty."


©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.