You are here:

Chess/Chess Hand Rule.

Advertisement


Question
Dear Chuck

Is there any rule in Chess Where the player who plays with either White or Black has to use the same Hand for making moves?.

Thanks
Prashant

Answer
Hello, Prashant.  Thank you for your question.

If you are playing a game of chess and are NOT using a chess clock to time the game, then it doesn't matter which hand you use to move the pieces.  However, if you are using a chess clock, then you must press the clock button with the same hand that you are moving the pieces with.

I hope I answered your question.

Enjoy your chess!

Your chess friend,

Chuck

Chess

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Chuck Kinzie

Expertise

I can answer basic chess questions regarding opening, middlegame and endgame strategy and tactics. I cannot answer questions about positions with subtle nuances that require Grandmaster or computer analysis.

Experience

I have been playing in chess tournaments for over thirty years.

Organizations
United States Chess Federation

Publications
I have a chess blog: http://www.chuckychess.blogspot.org

Education/Credentials
I earned a United States Chess Federation Expert rating in 1987.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.