Claris Homepage/blogs

Advertisement


Question
Hi Mr Webber,

I don't know if you are the one I need to ask, because there didn't seem to be a category.  I have a website that is getting slammed with all kinds of "blog" type entries in my guestbook. The entries seem robotic and most people say the same thing.  The url they put for their homepage is either not working or is some type of advertising.   I have no idea where all of these people got my webpage and why they are intent upon leaving me messages.  From their comments, its like some kind of contest, but I have not entered any that I know of.  Can you help me get rid of this unwanted attention ?

thanks in advance,
Becky

Answer
FOLLOWUP --
A Copy Of Your Answer From Scottgem:

I would turn off your guestbook for a week or so. If this is automated, then blocking it should stop the bot from accessing it. Once the bot stops they will tire of the game.

At the least, I would rename the page and change the links on your main page. I would also contact your WEB host service and ask for their recommendations.

HTH
Scott<>
------END FOLLOWUP -------

----BEGIN FIRST ANSWER-----


Hi Becky,

I could try to guess what the problem is,
but, I'd rather connect you with an expert
who can give you a sensible answer...
so --
I'm going to re-ask your question.
In other words, I'll ask "Scottgem"
(the AllExperts email expert)
the same question that you asked me.

You won't get the automatic email response
from AllExperts (I will).
Instead, to read the answer, you should go to this address:
http://www.allexperts.com/getExpert.asp?Category=3244
and look for the question from "MrWebber (and Becky)".

Hope this helps,
:-) MrWebber
webmaster@coolshoppin.com
http://www.CoolShoppin.com

Claris Homepage

All Answers


Ask Experts

Volunteer


mrwebber

Expertise

Claris HomePage Expert

Experience

Mr Webber is the CoolShoppin.com webmaster and formerly, the moderator of the famous "Ask Mr Webber" forum.

©2012 About.com, a part of The New York Times Company. All rights reserved.