You are here:

College Football/downing a punt

Advertisement


Question
if a player on the punting team is standing on the goal ine and bats the punted ball back into the field of play (ball did not break the plane of the goal) is that a touchback or down where the ball comes to rest?

Answer
Kevin
Thank you for your question, your play situation involves a firtst Touch/Illegal Touch by the kicking team.  THe deep officials will have or should have dropped a bean bag at the spot where the Kicking Team players touched the ball.  If it was touched on the goal line plane or in the end zone then it is a touchback.  If the ball did not break the plane of the goal line the bean bag will be in the field of play at the spot of th eFirst/Illegal touching.  The ball remains live until dead by rule.  If the ball becomes dean in the end zone it is a touchback. If it come to rest and dead by rule in the field of play the receiving team has the option to take the ball at the dead ball spot in the field of play or the first/illegal touching spot - usually which ever is more advantageous.  

College Football

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Vic Winnek

Expertise

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability; Football injury cases.

Experience

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability.

Organizations


Publications


Education/Credentials
INDEPENDENT EXPERT objective opinions.

Awards and Honors


Past/Present Clients

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.