You are here:

College Football/NCAA Tourchdown Rules

Advertisement


Question
What is the NCAA rule if a pass receiver catches a pass near where the goal line and side line intersect, and the ball is over the sideline when possession is secured, but the receiver drags one foot across the goal line into the end zone? In other words the ball never crosses the plain of the goal line in bounds. Is it a touchdown or is the ball marked where the ball was at the point the receiver crossed the end zone side line out of bounds?

Answer
For all levels of football, the ball must break the plane of the goal line or goal line extended for there to be a touchdown. The reference point is "the ball" in relation to the goal line.  Under NCAA rule airborne receivers must touch a body part in the end or the pylon for there to be a touchdown.

College Football

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Vic Winnek

Expertise

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability; Football injury cases.

Experience

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability.

Organizations


Publications


Education/Credentials
INDEPENDENT EXPERT objective opinions.

Awards and Honors


Past/Present Clients

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.