You are here:

College Football/Control of ball by receiver in end zone

Advertisement


Question
On 12/7/13 an OU receiver leaped and caught a pass and landed inbounds near the end if the end zone with both hands securely around the ball.  Immediately after the receiver's feet touched the ground an OSU defender knocked the receiver out of the end of the end zone, and caused the ball to come out of the receiver's grasp.  It was ruled incomplete.  Why was it not ruled a completed pass for a touchdown the instant the receiver's feet hit the ground inside the end zone with both hands securely in control of the ball?

Answer
Jim
That was the correct call incomplete pass.  Think of a catch as a "process".  A player must complete the process of the catch, where by the loose ball in flight (the pass) is caught by a player gaining firm control by firmly grasping the ball and controlling the movement of the ball [or lack of movement].  THe ball came out as the receiver wet to the ground. That is incomplete.  It would not be a Touchdown just because his foot or feet touched in the end zone while going tot he ground because the receiver must complete the process of the catch and must maintain firm grasp and control of the ball through the process of the catch.  

College Football

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Vic Winnek

Expertise

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability; Football injury cases.

Experience

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability.

Organizations


Publications


Education/Credentials
INDEPENDENT EXPERT objective opinions.

Awards and Honors


Past/Present Clients

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.