You are here:

College Football/Touchbacks during a punt

Advertisement


Question
If team A punts to team B, and a member of team A enters the end zone, then come out and touches the ball, OR, if team A's foot is on the goal line while touching the ball (i.e. downing the punt), is it a touchback?

Answer
Craig
What rules are you referring to?  Generally, Under the NCAA an dNFHS rules the key is the position of the ball in relation to the goal line, not the player's foot.  For there to be a touchback, the ball must cross the goal line  and become dead by rule in the end zone.

College Football

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Vic Winnek

Expertise

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability; Football injury cases.

Experience

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability.

Organizations


Publications


Education/Credentials
INDEPENDENT EXPERT objective opinions.

Awards and Honors


Past/Present Clients

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.