College Football/Intentional grounding in college
In college football, the QB is outside the tackle box and is going to throw the ball away. He throws the ball pass the line of scrimmage. Does a receiver have to be in the area?
Thank you for your question. your question appears to be asking about intentional grounding. No longer must an eligible receiver have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball for a forward pass in his area to not be intentional grounding.
The "tackle Box" is what establishes the the pocket area for intentional grounding. The Tackle box is established at the snap, before the play starts, not at the time the passer throws the ball. It is not a foul when the passer, who is or has been outside the tackle box, throws the ball so that it crosses or lands beyond the neutral zone or neutral zone extended. The tackle box is the rectangular area enclosed by the neutral zone, the two lines parallel to the sidelines five yards from the snapper, and Team A’s end line. No longer must an eligible receiver have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball for a forward pass in his area to not be intentional grounding. As long as an eligible receiver is in the area of the pass, intentional grounding will not be called.
Example: Quarterback drops straight back into the pocket, under a heavy rush, and is unable to find an open receiver. Not moving laterally, staying in the pocket, he throws the ball at the feet of an eligible receiver who is (a) looking to catch the ball, or (b) looking downfield to block.
Ruling: Both are legal passes, even though neither receiver had a reasonable opportunity to catch the pass. That is no longer a requirement.
I hope this answers your question.