You are here:

College Football/Ref interferance

Advertisement


Question
NCAA rules......
If team A throws the ball, and during Team B DB is jumping to block/intercept the pass, the Ref runs into him, knocking him down. Team A catches the ball, and scores......

Is there not a rule in effect that the ball should be Dead then? or shouldnt the play be redone?

Answer
Chad the simple answer is no.  The official in that instance does not stop the play or stop the clock or cause the ball to become dead.  Mechanically, this is not a highly probably situation, but assuming the mechanic have broken down and the official is out of position the ball remain alive .  The rules only address a player/squad member or non player interfering with the official, not the other way around.  

College Football

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Vic Winnek

Expertise

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability; Football injury cases.

Experience

Liability Issues (Legal & Insurance) arising from coaching, playing, refereeing, product liability.

Organizations


Publications


Education/Credentials
INDEPENDENT EXPERT objective opinions.

Awards and Honors


Past/Present Clients

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.