College Football/2011 ND vs Mich last td pass of game by Denard Robinson
Is it a catch in college football when the receiver catches the ball in endzone lands with one foot in bounds then while falling out of bounds defender knocks ball ajar the receiver bobbles the ball and then gains control when he hits the ground?
This can be found on Youtube when in 2011 Denard Robinson passes to Roundtree with 2 secs remaing to beat ND at michigan.
Eric, The receiver must complete the process of the catch for there to be a catch. Under 2013 rules your question is an incomplete pass.
Catch, Interception, Recovery
To catch a ball means that a player:
1. Secures control of a live ball in flight with his hands or arms before the ball touches the ground, and
2. Touches the ground in bounds with any part of his body, and then
3. Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable him to perform an act common to the game, i.e., long enough to pitch or hand the ball, advance it, avoid or ward off an opponent, etc., and
4. Satisfies paragraphs b, c, and d below.
b. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent) he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. This is also required for a player attempting to make a catch at the sideline and going to the ground out of bounds. If he loses control of the ball which then touches the ground before he regains control, it is not a catch. If he regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.
c. If the player loses control of the ball while simultaneously touching the ground with any part of his body, or if there is doubt that the acts were simultaneous, it is not a catch. If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession; he must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.
d. If the ball touches the ground after the player secures control and continues to maintain control, and the elements above are satisfied, it is a catch.
e. An interception is a catch of an opponent’s pass or fumble.
f. A catch by any kneeling or prone inbounds player is a completion or interception (Rules 7-3-6 and 7).
g. A player recovers a ball if he fulfills the criteria in paragraphs a, b, c, and d for catching a ball that is still alive after hitting the ground.
h. When in question, the catch, recovery or interception is not completed.
NCAA Approved Rule Example of a catch/no catch
Airborne A3 receives a pass at Team A's 40-yard line. As he receives the ball, he is contacted by B1 and comes to the ground out of bounds with the ball at Team A's 37-yard line.
RULING: Incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7-a).