You are here:

Cricket/ball touches the runner bat can take overthrow run

Advertisement


Question
if batsmen hit's the ball & fielder fields it he is  throwing to bawler end ,  same time runner is trying to come in the creas & he tries to put his bat between stumps & ball, same time ball touches his bat & changes the direction , then after is runner still allow to take one more overthrow run ???
he is abel to take this run just bcz his bat changed direction of ball .

Answer
For this (and many other) purposes, the runner is treated just the same as a normal batsman.

If he deliberately tries to put the bat between ball and stumps, then he is Obstructing the Field.

If he is trying to place his bat in his ground and the ball touches the bat accidentally, then it is bad luck for the fielding side.  The ball remains in play and the batsmen are allowed to continue running.

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Colin Pearson

Expertise

Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit http://nompere.proboards.com (anywhere that has advertised), www.ecb.co.uk/ecbaco (UK only)

Experience

I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

Organizations
ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

Education/Credentials
MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.