You are here:

Cricket/Cricket Batsman, Bowler - Left v/s Right Handed.

Advertisement


Question
Batsman
Batsman  

Bowler
Bowler  
Dear RKR Chirra

1. According to the rules of the game, is a right handed batsman in the first innings in a test match allowed to bat as a left handed batsman in the second innings or vice versa ?

2. According to the rules of the game, is a right handed batsman allowed to bat also as a left handed batsman in a One Day or
T-20 Game ?. i.e allowed to take stance as both right or left handed in the game or vice versa ?

3. According to the rules of the game, can a right handed bowler in the first innings in a test match allowed to bowl as a left handed bowler in the second innings or vice versa ?


4. According to the rules of the game, is a right handed bowler allowed to bowl also as a left handed bowler in a One Day or
T-20 Game ?. i.e allowed to bowl as both right or left handed in the game or vice versa ?


5. Can a Batsman play some test or one day or T-20 matches as a Right Hand Batsman and some matches with left hand Batsman in his career ?. i.e. According to the rules of the cricket game, is this allowed ?


6. Can a Bowler play some test or one day or T-20 matches as a  Right Hand Bowler and some matches with left hand Bowler in his career ?. i.e. According to the rules of the cricket game, is this allowed ?

Awaiting your reply,

Thanks & Regards,
Prashant S Akerkar

Answer
hi

1) yes
2) yes
3) yes
4) yes
5) yes
6) yes

all the cases it is the individual intrest, nothing in law preventing them but if he want to change his mode of delivery during an over I.e. from left arm bowling to right arm bowling vice verse then he should inform umpire of his wish.

regards
rkr

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


RKR Chirra

Expertise

you can ask me questions on laws of cricket,subject to all but questions will be answered on the basis of icc conditions

Experience

qualifeid cricket umpire and scorer from india

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.