You are here:

Cricket/Fair Catch

Advertisement


Question
QUESTION: Respected Sir,

Is it a fair catch ?

1) If for a fair delivery, ball struck by striker by his bat first hit on any part of silly mid-off fielder's body then it touches the protective equipment e.g helmet and then he subsequently catch the ball.

2) for the above mentioned scenario , the ball first directly touches his helmet before touching his body at all and then he subsequently catches the ball.

ANSWER: hi

1) it is out

2) it is not out

regards
rkr

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

QUESTION: Respected Sir,

Thanks for your reply.

1) You said out for the 1st one. But the ball touched the Helmet after touching fielder's person, then how could possible the cought out here?

Please elaborate on this. Thanks in advance

Answer
hi mayur...

sorry, in both cases it is NOT OUT for catch as the laws clearly states "However, it is not a fair catch if the ball has previously touched a protective helmet worn by a fielder. The ball will then remain in play".

i misread the question.

regards
rkr

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


RKR Chirra

Expertise

you can ask me questions on laws of cricket,subject to all but questions will be answered on the basis of icc conditions

Experience

qualifeid cricket umpire and scorer from india

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.