You are here:

Cricket/How do you run out a batsmen when all 3 stumps are down?

Advertisement


Question
Here is an hypothetical incident: Batsman misses the ball, keeper collects the ball and dislodges bails and uproots all the 3 stumps while batsman was still inside the crease. Its clear that at this point batsman is not out. Then batsmen starts running to take a run. At this point in time to make run out, does keeper need to put the stumps back and uproot it again by holding ball in hand or just holding the one of stump lying on ground and ball in one hand is sufficient?

Answer
hello raghu,
         good question asked.actually it's not an hypothetical question but when the situation happened as you said it is sufficient that he should hold the wicket and the ball in the same hand and the batsmen is declared out or he should place the stump in the actual place of the stump and remove it again.




         come back to me if you are unsatisfied.

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Sai Datta

Expertise

All Types Of Questions On laws Of Cricket,Umpiring And Scoring.And Also Can Help You In Your Cricket Career.Queries Related To The Laws Of The Game.Anyone Feel Free To Ask Me,Always Available !

Experience

I Played Many First Class Matches Representing Hyderabad.I Am A First Class Umpire,I Have Been Working As A Umpire In The Hyderabad Cricket Association For The Past 23 Years.And Worked At Past As A Scorer For About 2 Years.

Organizations
Hyderabad Cricket Association

Publications


Education/Credentials
I Have Done My Graduation From Loyola Degree College.And Not Opted For Higher Studies For The Love Of Cricket And To Pursue My Career In This Field.

Awards and Honors
I Have Been Awarded With The Senior Most Umpire And Many State Awards for My Umpiring And have Several Sets Of Them.Having The Best Domestic Umpire From The BCCI For 7 Years.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.