You are here:

Cricket/Catch off fielders protective equipment

Advertisement


Question
I am aware that a batsmen cannot be given out caught if ball strikes a fielder's helmet and is subsequently caught. With the advent of shin guards for close in fielders what is the rule if a batsmen drives the ball into a shortleg's shins, that are protected by shin pads, and deflects to another fielder on the full.  Is it a fair catch?  Or is it not a fair catch because the fielding team received an advantage from a fielders protective equipment?

Thanks

Answer
As the Law stands, then it is a fair catch.

A fielder is not allowed to wear EXTERNAL protective gear (except helmet) but can wear anything underneath his clothing.

I think it would be difficult to ask umpires to inspect players more closely!  

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Colin Pearson

Expertise

Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit http://nompere.proboards.com (anywhere that has advertised), www.ecb.co.uk/ecbaco (UK only)

Experience

I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

Organizations
ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

Education/Credentials
MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.