You are here:



How can a batsman stop or change the direction of a ball going towards the wicket inside the crease?

Two possible situations.

FIRSTLY - If the striker has just received the delivery and it has not been touched by a fielder then he is allowed to "hit" the ball "twice" in defence of his wicket.

I am assuming that he has "hit" it once already.

"hit" being any part of bat or body EXCEPT the hand (which could be Out Handled the Ball).

"twice" - can be more than twice!

Only exception is if the ball is in the air and a fielder is trying to catch it - when the striker could be Out Obstructing the Field.

SECONDLY - When the fielder has thrown the ball (presumably towards the wicket, possibly in an attempt to run either batsman out)

In this case any deliberate attempt to interfere with the ball is Out Obstructing the Field.  Obviously accidental interceptions are not penalised.  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.