You are here:

Cricket/Hat trick


If a bowler takes a wicket by stump out in wide ball, will it be counted towards hat-trick. Take this example W W[wd] W. Will this considered a as hat-trick? Any rules(ref.)?

There is no specific Law on the subject of hat-tricks, merely convention by players and statisticians.

If the bowler takes wickets in three consecutive balls, I do not think it matters if one is a Wide Ball.  Obviously a No Ball would break the sequence.


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]