You are here:

Cricket/Over through or willful act by fielder


Respected Sir,

In what cases you will allow the runs from overthrow if the ball deflects after striking the either batsmen's bat or person ?

Mayur Wankhade.

I answered a similar question on 06apr13 - subject Dead Ball:

Question:   Batsman completes one run but a throw from a fielder hits his bat and the ball gets reflected. He further attempts one more run. In such a situation should the umpire call dead ball or not?

Answer:   If the ball accidentally hits the bat, then the umpire should allow play to continue.

Law 25 Dead Ball does not list this as one of the occasions when the umpire should call.

Prior to 2000 revision, the Law explicitly listed this as being NOT Dead - but that list was omitted from later versions.  Tom Smith's Cricket Umpiring and Scoring does explain this in more detail - also MCC's Open learning Manual -,833,AR


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]