You are here:

Cricket/Stumping rule


If the batsman is walking down the pitch for a fast bowler then what is the rule if the wicket keeper walks up to the stumps and the batsman misses the ball and wicket keeper stumps.

Is it out ?? or Wicket keeper cannot walk up to stumps even if the batsman walks during bowler run up.

Law 40.4 says "It is unfair if the wicket-keeper standing back makes a significant movement towards the wicket after the ball comes into play and before it reaches the striker. In the event of such unfair movement by the wicket-keeper, either umpire shall call and signal Dead ball.

It will not be considered a significant movement if the wicket-keeper moves a few paces forward for a slower delivery."

The umpire will have to judge each case on its merits.  Depending on where the keeper started from, I would regard three steps as about the maximum allowed.  There is already a discussion on


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.