You are here:

Cricket/run outs


batsman hits ball to mid off. run completed. Non striker (now at strikers end) calls for a second run but stays out. both batsmen end up at strikers end and run out completed at non-strikers end. who is out?

Steve strikes ball
Norman and Steve run complete
Norman calls for second run
Do you mean he stays at that end - in his ground?
Steve runs to same end
Consequently they have not crossed whilst running
Hence Steve is run out at Bowler's End.

This and other situations are covered by Law 29.2


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.