You are here:

Cricket/bowling behind umpire

Advertisement


Question
Hello Sir my question to you is that if the bowler balls behind the umpire  is it fair delivery?

Answer
Hi Aasif,

It is not an unfair delivery to bowl from behind the umpire and also it is not outside the rule but as the law says umpire shall be satisfied with the fairness of foot regarding delivery. As an umpire practically we call dead ball on first instance and tell bowler that it is not permitted to bowl from behind umpire as we cannot be satisfied with his Back foot landing which may be landing on the return crease so we will ask him to bowl fr in front of umpire, we am only call dead all in this case not noball

Regards
Rkr

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


RKR Chirra

Expertise

you can ask me questions on laws of cricket,subject to all but questions will be answered on the basis of icc conditions

Experience

qualifeid cricket umpire and scorer from india

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.