You are here:

Cricket/question

Advertisement


Question
QUESTION: what will happen if a ball is caught from the arm guard of a batsman? Is it out or not out?

ANSWER: hi

no batsmen cannot be out caught of the arm gaurd

regards
rkr

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

QUESTION: can you please explain why?? Some people are saying it's out. I'm a bit confused.

Answer
hi,

well the law is pretty clear like this

Contact with the ball

In these Laws,

(a) reference to the bat shall imply that the bat is held in the batsmanís hand or a glove worn on his hand, unless stated otherwise.

(b) contact between the ball and either (i) the bat itself

or (ii) the batsmanís hand holding the bat

or (iii) any part of a glove worn on the batsmanís hand holding the bat

so as the arm gaurd is not part of the hand or glove worn by the batsmen it is like any other protection worn by the batsmen so batsmen cannot be out if the ball hits arm guard and leg byes will be given if runs are scored of the ball hitting arm guard

regards
rkr

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


RKR Chirra

Expertise

you can ask me questions on laws of cricket,subject to all but questions will be answered on the basis of icc conditions

Experience

qualifeid cricket umpire and scorer from india

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.