You are here:

Cricket/Penalty runs


My Questions.

Innings 1: The fielding team were warned for time wasting by the umpires in Innings 1.

In innings 2 - The fielding who were warned earlier were batting and the batsmen was in breach of wasting time.

Does the warning given by the umpire in the first innings hold good and he can award 5 Penalty runs against the batting team.

I think the clue is in Law 42.9(c) If either umpire considers that there is any further waste of time in that innings by any fielder, he shall ....

Consequently, the team will start the next innings with a clean sheet.  However, I feel that the umpires should be vigilant and issue a formal first warning at the first signs of another problem.


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.