You are here:

Cricket/Batsman damging the pitch


Considering law 42.14 why there is no action when batsman taps on pitch with his bat(bat's toe) before receiving delivery. Also why he is allowed to clear debris on the pitch with help of his foot, though there is guidlines laid down in law 10.2

This is covered by custom and practice rather than Law.

You are correct that the batsman should use his hand rather than his foot.

There is a fine line between the batsman flattening a bump legitimately and him damaging the pitch to help his side when they bowl.

Umpires must be careful but not too officious.


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.